Skip to content

McKesson data theft and service disruption

Summary

McKesson Corporation logo

McKesson’s August service disruption is resolved. September disclosures narrowed customer-data exposure; an external breach index reported 6.4 million unique email addresses in an alleged leaked corpus, not a confirmed patient count.

Key facts

Timeline

  • First public signal:
    ? Earliest public indication of an outage, disruption, closure or other observable incident impact. The signal does not need to mention cybersecurity.
  • First public cyber evidence:
    ? Earliest credible public information connecting the incident or disruption to malicious cyber activity.
  • Official cyber disclosure:
    ? First official acknowledgment by the affected organization or an authoritative public body that the incident was cyber-related.
  • Last impact seen:
    ? Latest public indication that disruption, degraded operations, recovery work or unresolved impact was still ongoing.
  • Incident end:
    ? Confirmed or defensibly assessed end of material operational disruption or incident activity.

Primary victim organization

Impacted location

Critical infrastructure sector

Incident characteristics

Assessments

DD-CIT assessment

External sources identified the event as cyber-related before the organization publicly confirmed it. The organization publicly documents the resulting service disruption.

Attack mechanisms

  • Data extortion

    Threats to publish or sell stolen data without evidence of encryption.

  • Unauthorized access

    Unauthorized access to systems, accounts, networks, or data.

Data impacts

  • Data publication or leak

    Stolen, exposed, or otherwise compromised data was publicly released, posted, distributed, or offered for download.

  • Data theft or exfiltration

    Data was copied, transferred, downloaded, or otherwise removed from the affected environment by an unauthorized party.

Operational impacts

Extortion indicators

  • Full data publication

    The actor published or released a substantial or complete set of allegedly stolen victim data.

  • Ransom demand

    The victim received a demand for payment in exchange for restoring access, decrypting systems, preventing disclosure, or stopping another threatened action.

  • Data-theft extortion

    The actor threatened to disclose, sell, distribute, or otherwise misuse stolen data unless the victim paid or complied with demands.

  • Public leak threat

    The actor explicitly threatened to publish or publicly release victim data or incident details.

  • Leak-site listing

    The victim was listed on a threat actor or ransomware data-leak site as an alleged target or nonpaying victim.

  • Countdown or payment deadline

    The actor imposed a deadline or public countdown before increasing the demand, publishing data, deleting keys, or taking another threatened action.

  • Direct victim contact

    The actor directly contacted the victim through a ransom note, email, chat portal, telephone call, messaging platform, or other communication channel.

Incident narrative

Analyst assessment

McKesson said it discovered unauthorized access to third-party applications Aug. 25, 2026, and confirmed that data associated with a subset of customers in its Oncology & Multispecialty and Medical-Surgical business units was exfiltrated. Its Form 8-K described a cybersecurity incident affecting information systems and said the company had not determined that the incident was material or reasonably likely to have a material effect.

ShinyHunters publicly claimed responsibility. CyberInsider said it reviewed samples that appeared consistent with the actor’s allegations, and BleepingComputer reported that the actor claimed it voice-phished employees, compromised Okta single-sign-on accounts, accessed Salesforce and Snowflake, and exfiltrated about 1 TB from Aug. 21 through Aug. 25. The actor alleged that roughly 284 million raw records were involved, said it demanded $55,236,150 and threatened publication. McKesson has not confirmed the actor, alleged access method, named applications, raw-record total, volume or demand. Its later notice independently established an Aug. 20–25 access window and potential categories of personal information; those findings do not authenticate the actor’s entire account. The public record does not establish ransomware encryption.

Operational significance

McKesson’s Aug. 28 notice warned that customers could experience intermittent service degradation believed to be related to the incident. That is a documented operational effect even though the company did not proactively disconnect customer systems. The exact affected applications and degraded functions were not disclosed.

The disruption is significant because McKesson supports pharmaceutical distribution, oncology and multispecialty care, and medical-surgical customers. The company nevertheless said Aug. 29 that it continued accepting orders across all lines of business, all distribution centers remained operational, products continued shipping, and customers could use its systems and services as intended. No physical facility was identified as impaired.

Disclosure posture

CyberInsider’s Aug. 28 report initially published the ShinyHunters allegation and added McKesson’s confirmation at 3:30 p.m. ET. McKesson later posted its customer notice and filed its Form 8-K. The sequence supports an external-first cyber characterization followed by organization confirmation; McKesson itself documented the service degradation.

Current status

The material operational disruption is resolved. McKesson’s Aug. 29 notice provides positive evidence that systems and services were usable as intended and that order acceptance, distribution centers and shipping were operating. The investigation, data-scope review and notifications remained open, but those activities do not establish continuing operational impact. Aug. 28 remains the latest date on which McKesson documented service degradation.

Subsequent data disclosures

McKesson’s Sept. 8 breach notice said the incident targeted employee corporate accounts and that unauthorized access occurred Aug. 20–25. Depending on the person, potentially affected information included identifying and contact details, patient identifiers, insurance information, medical records, billing and payment information, and Social Security numbers. Some guarantors’ information may also be involved. The company offered 24 months of identity-protection and credit-monitoring services while reviewing records and preparing individual notifications.

Its Sept. 21 update identified a subset of Oncology & Multispecialty customers and said Medical-Surgical information was primarily business-contact and order data. The investigation had found no indication that North American Pharmaceutical Distribution or CoverMyMeds data was affected. The company said it continued serving customers across all business lines.

Have I Been Pwned, which added the breach Sept. 10, reported that ShinyHunters subsequently published a substantial corpus alleged to originate at McKesson. It identified 6.4 million unique email addresses spanning marketing recipients, patients, staff and healthcare-provider contacts. That is an external researcher’s email-address count, not McKesson’s confirmed affected-person or patient total. It does not independently authenticate the provenance of every record.

Confidence and uncertainty

Confidence is high that unauthorized access caused data exfiltration and intermittent service degradation because McKesson directly confirmed each element. Confidence is medium that the incident involved ShinyHunters-related data extortion: the stable claim aligns with McKesson’s confirmed exfiltration, two publications reported direct contact with the actor and CyberInsider reviewed apparently consistent samples, but McKesson has not attributed the incident or verified the allegations.

Ransomware deployment is not established. The actor’s payment demand and leak threat support data extortion, not proof that files or systems were encrypted. The alleged phishing and cloud-access chain remains an actor claim rather than a confirmed attack mechanism.

Analytic gaps

The public record does not establish the confirmed initial access vector, affected third-party applications, exploited vulnerability, compromised accounts, dwell time, person-specific data findings, number of affected organizations or people, precise degraded services, remediation costs, payment outcome or full investigative conclusion. It also does not independently authenticate the entire alleged dataset or establish how many unique people are represented by the claimed 284 million raw records.

Threat actor and claim

Listed as: McKesson CorporationSource: ransomware.livePublished: Discovered:

Claim details

ShinyHunters listed McKesson and told CyberInsider and BleepingComputer that it voice-phished employees, compromised Okta single-sign-on accounts, accessed Salesforce and Snowflake, and exfiltrated about 1 TB from Aug. 21 through Aug. 25. The actor alleged roughly 284 million raw records tied to tens of millions of people, said it demanded $55,236,150 and threatened publication by Sept. 1. McKesson confirmed unauthorized access and data exfiltration affecting a subset of Oncology & Multispecialty and Medical-Surgical customers, but it has not attributed the incident or confirmed the alleged method, named applications, volume, raw-record total or demand. Its Sept. 8 notice independently identifies Aug. 20–25 access and potential individual data categories. HIBP subsequently reported publication of an alleged McKesson corpus with 6.4 million unique emails across mixed roles; that does not validate the actor’s 284 million-row total or every record’s provenance.

Organizations involved

Impacted location

  • Irving, Texas

    Medium Confidence

    Irving is McKesson’s disclosed headquarters and is used as the corporate incident location; no specific facility-level disruption was identified.

Sources

McKesson Corporation Form 8-K

The Aug. 28 Form 8-K says McKesson discovered a cybersecurity incident affecting information systems on Aug. 25. It lists the company’s headquarters in Irving, Texas, and says McKesson had not determined a material or reasonably likely material impact at the filing date.

McKesson discloses breach after ShinyHunters claims patient data theft

BleepingComputer reported direct ShinyHunters allegations of voice phishing, compromised Okta single-sign-on accounts, Salesforce and Snowflake access, about 1 TB exfiltrated Aug. 21-25, roughly 284 million raw records and a $55,236,150 demand. It said the claims were not independently verified and McKesson had not disclosed the stolen information.

ShinyHunters claim for McKesson Corporation

The claim record says ShinyHunters listed McKesson, alleged theft of hundreds of millions of rows containing PII and PHI and threatened publication if the company did not engage by Sept. 1. These are actor allegations, not independently verified facts.

ShinyHunters claims McKesson data breach exposing 284 million patient records

CyberInsider published the ShinyHunters allegation Aug. 28 and added McKesson’s confirmation at 3:30 p.m. ET. It said samples reviewed privately appeared consistent with the claimed data types. The actor alleged vishing of two employees, Salesforce and Snowflake access, 284 million raw records tied to tens of millions of people and a $55,236,150 demand; McKesson did not verify those details.

Customer cybersecurity information center

Aug.28 intermittent degradation and Aug.29 restored system usability remain. Sept.21 narrows subset Oncology/Multispecialty and primarily business-contact/order Medical-Surgical data; no indication North American Pharmaceutical Distribution or CoverMyMeds data affected. Continues all business lines.

Pharmaceutical giant McKesson warns of 'service degradation' following cyberattack

Recorded Future News reported McKesson’s confirmation of exfiltration and service degradation and reported that ShinyHunters claimed the attack and threatened publication.

Notice of Data Breach

Employee corporate accounts targeted; unauthorized access Aug. 20–25. Potential person-specific identifying, insurance, medical and billing/payment data, including some guarantors;24 months IDX and ongoing individual review.

McKesson Data Breach

Index added Sept. 10 reports publication of a substantial allegedly McKesson corpus with 6.4 million unique email addresses across marketing recipients, patients, staff and provider contacts. Not a confirmed patient or person count.

About us

McKesson describes its healthcare distribution, medical-surgical, oncology and healthcare technology businesses.

See something that needs correction?

Signed-in members can report an error, update, or missing source.