Skip to content

Cleveland ransomware attack disrupts City Hall services

Summary

City of Cleveland logo

A June 2024 ransomware attack closed Cleveland City Hall and Erieview offices to public business and disrupted permits and vital records. Selected services resumed June 20, with business-critical systems available while other restoration continued. Full recovery timing and the named attacker remain unverified.

Key facts

Timeline

  • Incident start:
    ? Earliest known or assessed start of malicious activity or incident activity.
  • First public signal:
    ? Earliest public indication of an outage, disruption, closure or other observable incident impact. The signal does not need to mention cybersecurity.
  • First public cyber evidence:
    ? Earliest credible public information connecting the incident or disruption to malicious cyber activity.
  • Official cyber disclosure:
    ? First official acknowledgment by the affected organization or an authoritative public body that the incident was cyber-related.
  • Last impact seen:
    ? Latest public indication that disruption, degraded operations, recovery work or unresolved impact was still ongoing.

Primary victim organization

Critical infrastructure sector

Incident characteristics

Assessments

Attack mechanisms

  • Ransomware

    Malware that encrypts systems or data, typically accompanied by a ransom demand.

Data impacts

  • Data unavailable

    Authorized users could not access required data because of the incident, even when the data was not encrypted, deleted, or destroyed.

Operational impacts

  • Partial service outage

    A service, system, platform, or operational capability remained available only in part or with significant limitations.

  • Degraded service

    Services remained available but with reduced performance, reliability, functionality, capacity, or responsiveness.

  • Internal systems unavailable

    Internal business, administrative, operational, or staff-facing systems were unavailable.

  • Transaction processing disruption

    Business, financial, customer, administrative, or operational transactions could not be completed normally.

  • Records access disruption

    Staff, customers, patients, students, residents, or other users could not access records or case information normally.

  • Records processing disruption

    The organization could not create, update, search, file, approve, transmit, or otherwise process records normally.

  • Government services disrupted

    Public administrative, licensing, permitting, court, tax, records, benefits, or other government services were materially affected.

  • Facility closure

    One or more offices, schools, clinics, stores, plants, branches, or other facilities closed because of the incident.

  • Delayed opening or early closure

    The organization delayed opening, closed early, or reduced operating hours because of the incident.

  • Service delay

    Services continued but with longer processing, response, delivery, or completion times.

  • Alternate service channel required

    The organization redirected users to a different website, office, telephone number, email address, provider, or service channel.

  • Staff unable to work normally

    Employees or contractors were unable to perform normal duties because systems, data, facilities, or communications were unavailable.

  • Customer or public access restricted

    Customers, residents, patients, students, vendors, or members of the public faced access restrictions or could not use services normally.

Extortion indicators

  • Ransom demand

    The victim received a demand for payment in exchange for restoring access, decrypting systems, preventing disclosure, or stopping another threatened action.

Incident narrative

Analyst assessment

A ransomware attack led Cleveland to shut down affected systems and close City Hall and offices at Erieview Plaza to the public in June 2024. The city initially announced a cyber incident June 9, with closures beginning June 10. Its June 14 statement, reproduced by News 5, confirmed ransomware after an investigation involving city IT staff, the FBI and Ohio Cyber Reserve resources.

Officials said abnormalities were first detected Saturday, June 8. That is a detection milestone, not a verified initial intrusion time. The city’s earlier cyber acknowledgment is distinct from its later ransomware confirmation. Our June 14 report covered the ransomware disclosure; it was not the first public notice of the underlying incident.

Operational significance

The interruption blocked normal public business at City Hall, including processing building permits and birth and death certificates. An attempted June 12 reopening encountered technical problems, and the city again restricted public access. Its June 12 public update said services would remain unavailable to residents June 13–14 while employees could enter.

Residents seeking vital records were directed to online options or neighboring municipal offices. The city’s June 18 reopening notice announced selected services for noon June 20, including Building & Housing, Assessments/Licenses and Vital Statistics. It warned of lines and delays and instructed building customers to upload documents because staff could not scan paper submissions. The Juneteenth holiday closure was separately scheduled.

The city said public safety, airport operations, utilities, waste collection and recreation centers continued operating. Its June 10 update also said municipal courts were operating on a different system. In a separate data statement, the city said CCA taxpayer information and public-utility customer information were unaffected while the broader investigation continued. These are limited city assurances, rather than findings about every municipal record. The City Hall closure does not establish a shutdown of all municipal services.

In the subsequent-events note to its 2023 annual financial report, the city said malware infected certain systems June 8 and officials disconnected systems from the internet to contain it. The city reported employee timekeeping, payroll, financial and email systems as unaffected, along with systems serving public utilities, port control and taxation. These are the city’s reported findings, rather than a comprehensive forensic determination about every municipal system or record.

June 20 reporting confirmed the reopening with minimal disruptions. A spokesperson said all business-critical systems were available while restoration of other systems continued. This was a substantial service recovery, rather than an all-systems restoration date. The incident is assessed as presumed resolved, with no exact operational end date.

Confidence and uncertainty

Confidence is high in ransomware involvement and the municipal service interruption because the city explicitly acknowledged both. In a June 10 official post, it also confirmed affected-system shutdowns and the City Hall and Erieview closures.

The city said it would not negotiate with the attackers or respond to their requests. That establishes a publicly stated refusal, not a complete payment history. The amount and terms of the demand were not disclosed.

July 26 reporting quoted responder Chris Prewitt describing a Russian-affiliated ransomware group without naming it. That attributed assessment does not identify a specific operator. The report described continuing investigation and anticipated follow-up work, not a newly documented service outage. This occurrence is separate from the February 2025 Cleveland Municipal Court attack and its later Qilin claim.

Analytic gaps

The initial access method, exact intrusion window, systems encrypted, scope of any copied information, affected-person count, ransom amount and final restoration date remain unresolved. Containment and reopening statements do not establish that no information was accessed or removed. A precise recovery accounting is also needed to quantify delayed permits, records requests and remaining work after June 20.

Organizations involved

Impacted locations

  • Cleveland, Ohio

    Cleveland’s municipal territory is the affected government’s service-area overlay, paired with the city’s service-area relationship. This geographic remit does not establish that every city department or resident service was unavailable.

    Cleveland contains City Hall at 601 Lakeside Avenue and the municipal Erieview offices affected by the June 2024 closures. This is the physical office anchor alongside the municipal service-area overlay.

  • Cuyahoga County, Ohio

    Cuyahoga County contains the affected Cleveland municipal offices. This physical county anchor accompanies Cleveland’s office and service-area links; it does not identify the county government as a victim.

Sources

City Hall Knocked Offline by Ransomware in Cleveland, Ohio

The report describes ransomware closing Cleveland City Hall to most public business. The mayor’s office identified ransomware after investigation by city IT staff, the FBI and Ohio Cyber Reserve resources, while essential services continued.

Cleveland City Hall to close Monday after ‘cyber incident’

Cleveland’s June 9 statement said affected systems had been shut down during a cyber investigation and City Hall and Erieview would close June 10. The city said emergency services, airport operations and utilities were unaffected, with daytime 311 calls routed to after-hours operators.

City of Cleveland: City Hall and Erieview closed during cyber incident

Cleveland said City Hall and Erieview were closed June 10 except to essential staff while it investigated a cyber incident. Affected systems were shut down for security and restoration. Emergency services and utilities were reported unaffected.

City of Cleveland: limited data assurances during cyber investigation

The city said CCA taxpayer information and Public Utilities customer information were unaffected. Its investigation into the broader nature and scope of the incident continued.

City of Cleveland: public services unavailable June 13–14

The city said public services at City Hall would be unavailable June 13 and June 14, while the building remained open to employees.

A week of disorder in Cleveland, as City Hall remains closed after ransomware attack

Cleveland City Hall remained closed June 14 after a failed midweek reopening. Staff encountered problems processing permits and vital records. Officials described ransomware as contained but did not disclose the demanded amount or a payment decision.

City Hall 'cyber incident' identified as ransomware attack

The city confirmed ransomware June 14 and said the identified threat was contained while investigation and recovery continued. City Hall would remain closed June 17. Officials described abnormalities first noticed June 8 and technical problems during an attempted June 12 reopening.

Ransomware attack behind City Hall cyber problems, Cleveland says

The mayor’s office told employees June 14 that investigators had confirmed ransomware. City Hall would remain closed to the public while employees reported to work. Officials said emergency response, waste collection, recreation centers, airport operations and utilities continued.

City Hall to reopen to the public at noon on Thursday, June 20, 2024, following cyberattack

Cleveland announced selected City Hall services would resume at noon June 20, including building and housing, assessments and licenses, and vital statistics. The city warned of lines and delays and said staff could not scan paper building documents. Essential city services continued operating.

Cleveland officials say they won't negotiate with ransomware attackers, reopen City Hall

A city spokesperson said June 20 reopening brought minimal disruptions. All business-critical systems were available, while other systems were still being restored. Officials said the city would not negotiate or respond to attackers’ requests, without disclosing the demands.

Cleveland will be dealing with fallout from June cyber attack for weeks, experts say

Responder Chris Prewitt described an unnamed Russian-affiliated ransomware group and continuing investigation after City Hall reopened. The July 26 report discussed further response work and expert forecasts, without documenting a new service outage or identifying a specific group.

Cleveland 2023 annual financial report — June 2024 malware disclosure

The city’s subsequent-events note reports malware infection June 8, 2024, internet disconnection and continued operation of unaffected departments. It identifies timekeeping, payroll, financial, email, utility, port-control and taxation systems as unaffected.

See something that needs correction?

Signed-in members can report an error, update, or missing source.